Aaron Judge was unanimously named the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s American League Rookie of the Year Award winner on Monday, becoming the first Yankee since Derek Jeter in 1996 to garner the honor, and the ninth overall.

Judge, who recently won his first AL Silver Slugger Award, is also an AL MVP Award candidate following a 2017 campaign in which he hit .284 with an AL-leading 52 homers, 128 runs, 114 RBIs and a 1.049 OPS.

Aaron Judge, NYY 30     150
Andrew Benintendi, BOS   23 6 75
Trey Mancini, BAL   5 16 31
Matt Olson, OAK   1 5 5
Yuri Gurriel, HOU     5 5
Jordan Montgomery, NYY   1 1 4
Name, team 1st 2nd 3rd Pts.

Judge’s 52 taters set the Major League rookie record for home runs in a season, breaking Mark McGwire’s mark of 49 homers that had stood for three decades. He also set the rookie record for walks, with 127, passing Ted Williams’ 107 in 1939.

The 25-year-old earned an All-Star nod — while winning the Home Run Derby along the way — and was a finalist for the AL Gold Glove Award for right field.

David Adler is a reporter for MLB.com based in New York. Follow him on Twitter at @_dadler. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Source link